Choral Evensong & Academic Hoods

We sang Evensong tonight. Glorious music. Adult and child choristers. Some big organ moments. Amazing musicians.

My eldest granddaughter, R, age 9, is a chorister and I can’t tell you how much joy it brings me to sing with her. She and her bestest friends C and V are choristers together, which brings me even more joy.

Attire for tonight’s evensong was our typical vestments, black robes and white cottas. With this special service we were also, if we have them, to wear our academic hoods. Our hoods celebrate our academic achievements, displaying our field of study (neck color) and alma mater in the lining.

Young R and C interrogated me as we left the church this evening – What is that?! Why do you have it?! How did you get it?!

I said it shows I’m a biology (science) major from FSU. I’m a Master of biology so mine is medium length. Your mom, C, would have a longer one, probably white for Arts, your dad’s would be orange for engineering. Music majors are pink. R, you mom’s would be green for medicine and your dad dark blue for political science. I wished I could have shown them the pictures below. Another choir I sing with wearing our varied vestments and colors.

I love that people from so many walks of life come together in choirs, finding happiness singing together.

We parted to put away folders, de-vest and go home. As I was leaving I heard another chorister interrogating another adult choir member about these strange “hood” things. 😂😂

RSCMA Choir at Grace Cathedral, San Francisco
RSCMA Choir, St Patrick’s Cathedral, Dublin. Science, Music, Art, Jurisprudence disciplines visible
Me with my hood and fellow St Michael’s-Orlando choristers at St Patrick’s-Dublin

Leave a comment